Arizona E-Bike Law
Arizona Electric Bike Law
We enjoy riding all types of bikes whether they have a motor or not. We want to remind you to ride within your limits and respect all local governing land organizations.
This is not legal advice or a legal opinion. Please consult with all governing municipalities in your area for more information.
As of January 1st, 2019, Arizona signed law 28-819 into law. This law states the follow.
Link to Arizona article 28-819: Article 28-819
28-819. Electric bicycles; electric standup scooters
A. An operator of an electric bicycle or an electric standup scooter is granted all the rights and privileges and is subject to all of the duties of a person riding a bicycle. Except as otherwise provided in this section or as otherwise regulated by a local authority, an electric bicycle or an electric standup scooter is subject to the same provisions of this title as a bicycle.
B. An electric bicycle or an electric standup scooter is not subject to the provisions of this title relating to certificates of title, registration, vehicle license tax, driver licenses or vehicle insurance.
C. Beginning January 1, 2019, manufacturers and distributors of electric bicycles shall apply a label that is permanently affixed, in a prominent location, to each electric bicycle. The label shall contain the classification number, top assisted speed and motor wattage of the electric bicycle and shall be printed in at least nine-point type.
D. A class 1 electric bicycle, a class 2 electric bicycle or an electric standup scooter may be used on bicycle and multiuse paths. A local authority or agency of this state having jurisdiction over a bicycle or multiuse path may prohibit the operation of a class 1 electric bicycle, class 2 electric bicycle or electric standup scooter on the path.
E. A class 3 electric bicycle may not be operated on a bicycle or multiuse path unless it is within or adjacent to a highway or roadway or unless the local authority or agency of this state having jurisdiction over the path allows the operation.
F. An electric standup scooter must have a unique identification that consists of letters or numbers, or both, and that is visible from a distance of at least five feet. The identification:
1. May not be obscured by branding or other markings.
2. Shall be used in this state to identify the electric standup scooter. This paragraph applies to all persons, including local authorities.
People for Bikes is a non-profit organization have compiled a helpful info-graph about Arizona’s E-Bike Law.
Link to PDF: People for Bike Arizona E-Bike Law
Electric Bike Class Ratings
Class 1: The motor kicks in only when you pedal, and stops helping at 20 mph.
Class 2: Also has a pedal-assist mode up to 20 mph plus a purely throttle-powered mode.
Class 3: Is solely pedal-assist (like class 1), but assistance continues until you hit 28 mph.
Class 1 E-bikes top out at 20mph. Class 1 bikes are the most common e-bikes out today. They are slowly being allowed on regular mountain bike trails as well as public bike paths. Each state has its own laws. Please find out what your state law is by visiting sites like People for Bikes. People for Bikes - Electric Bike Information
Class 2 e-bikes feature a throttle but top at 20mph. Both Class 1 and 2 E-bikes top at 20mph. The difference being class 2 features a throttle and no pedal input is needed. Dream Cycles does NOT offer class 2 E-bikes.
Class 3 e-bikes feature a top speed of 28mph. A Class 3 eBike, or speed pedal-assisted electric bicycle, is equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling and stops providing assistance when the bicycle reaches 28 mph.